Showing posts with label Reviews. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Reviews. Show all posts

Wednesday, November 06, 2019

Bene (#5The Guzzi Legacy) Bethany-Kris - Blog Tour

BENE


by Bethany-Kris
Guzzi Legacy, #5
Publication Date: November 4, 2019
Genres: Adult, Romantic Suspense, Organized Crime. Erotic Romance, Standalone


AVAILABLE NOW!















SYNOPSIS


A vendetta can change everything. 


Bene Guzzi is walking a fine line. In his family, the mafia, and even with his own twin. Being a Guzzi principe means he doesn't have time to be a screw up, so he needs to fix it and fast.


Vanna Falco is nothing that she seems. Her angel's face hides a past filled with pain and her secrets might be enough to finally take the Guzzi family down for good. That is, if no one finds out the truth.


But everything gets trickier when people who shouldn't be together, start to fall hard. And no one is more dangerous than a Guzzi in love.


The lies between them, though?
Well, they might ruin it all.
*
Note: Bene is a standalone within The Guzzi Legacy and can be read as such.


goodreads-badge-add-38px


Review 
5 Stars
 πŸŒŸ⭐🌟⭐🌟


Bene is lost within his head, trying to find a way of coming out of his tizzy, when he meets Vanna. Coincidence? Anyway, they hit it off straightaway, and Bene does something that goes against the Guzzi rules. What appears to be harmless to him might just put an end to the Guzzis. Each time they meet, they fall a little harder, until the truth is unearthed. Is it too late to make amends? If only it were that easy.

Bene is so understanding. Hats off to him for getting in Marcus's psyche to justify his behaviour. The love between him and Vanna has a real twist, but he puts things in perspective and his actions are honourable. Once Vanna realises her mistake, she does everything in her power to put things right. She has been betrayed too.

It's amazing how the Guzzi brothers stick together when there is a crisis such as the one they find themselves in. The love and loyalty in the family shine through, and Gian and Cara couldn't be more understanding. Family comes first really applies here. This story is really emotional. At some point, it looks like there is no coming back from the betrayal, but again BK gives the outcome that most readers would expect. I would have liked to have seen how things progressed, but my appreciation of the story was not diminished. I hope that there is more light in Marcus's story, which I am really looking forward to read. Amazing story.

I was kindly issued with an eARC and the views expressed are my personal opinion.




ABOUT BETHANY-KRIS



Bethany-Kris is a Canadian author, lover of much, and mother to four young sons, one cat, and two dogs. A small town in Eastern Canada where she was born and raised is where she has always called home. With her boys under her feet, snuggling cat, barking dogs, and a hubby calling over his shoulder, she is nearly always writing something when she can find the time.


To keep up-to-date with new releases from Bethany-Kris, sign up to her New Release Newsletter here: http://eepurl.com/bf9lzD



ENTER THE GIVEAWAY



Wednesday, October 09, 2019

Beni (#4 Guzzi Legacy) Bethany-Kris - Blog Tour

BENI


by Bethany-Kris
Guzzi Legacy, #4

Publication Date
October 7, 2019

Genres
 Adult, STANDALONE, Romantic Suspense, Organized Crime. Erotic Romance





AVAILABLE NOW!
















SYNOPSIS


Chicago has never been more fun, or dangerous


Sent away with his identical twin to get their wild ways under control, Beni Guzzi expects nothing to change. Same crap, new city, right? But if the boss of the Chicago mob can't set the principes straight, then nothing will.


And then she rolls into town.


Stuck in a job that seems intent to keep her working behind a desk, August Rivera hopes a trip to the windy city for an assignment will make the magazine finally give her a spread. But getting to see her best friend, well, that's just a bonus.


And then she sees him from across a club.


With a gang causing trouble for the Outfit, and a Capos crew in shambles, Beni has a million other things to focus on except the beautiful New Yorker who keeps finding her way into his bed. The thing is, when he's with August, everything is better, easier.


Falling in love while handling family drama and mafia affairs is anything but simple  and in this business? It only takes a single mistake to lose it all.


That lesson can't be taught, and it always comes too late.

*

NOTE: Beni is a standalone novel within The Guzzi Legacy series. It can be read as such.

goodreads-badge-add-38px


Review 
4 Stars 
🌟⭐🌟⭐

This book is revolves around the change in priorities in one's life. As close as you are with family, there comes a time when you have to stand on your own two feet. That doesn't mean that the family is any less important, if anything the bond is strengthened.

Beni and his twin Bene have always done everything together. Now that they are adolescents, they have to find their own path in life. They are sent away from home and that's where Beni has to deal with the change of circumstances.

Like all the Guzzis, Beni falls hard when he meets August. The feeling is mutual and the changes that come along will either make or break the strong bond between the twins.

August is on a temporary assignment when she meets Beni. Now, she has to decide what she really wants out of her career. Stay in Chicago or persuing a career in New York. Is their relationship strong enough to survive the distance? Will August take a chance and follow her heart?

Although this is based on a mafia family, it's more about growing up. Beni and August both have to find their road to happiness without upsetting their strong family bond. It's fascinating to watch them growing into their own. There wasn't as much action as in BK's previous mafia book, but the romance is awesome. It will be interesting to see what the changes mean to Bene.

I was kindly issued with an eARC and the views expressed are my personal opinion.




ABOUT BETHANY-KRIS



Bethany-Kris is a Canadian author, lover of much, and mother to four young sons, one cat, and two dogs. A small town in Eastern Canada where she was born and raised is where she has always called home. With her boys under her feet, snuggling cat, barking dogs, and a hubby calling over his shoulder, she is nearly always writing something  when she can find the time.

To keep up-to-date with new releases from Bethany-Kris, sign up to her New Release Newsletter here
http://eepurl.com/bf9lzD




ENTER THE GIVEAWAY



Tuesday, October 08, 2019

Finn (#1 Anderson Billionaires) Melody Anne - Release Blitz



New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Melody Anne begins a sizzling and heartfelt series about Joseph Anderson’s long-lost nephews.



Synopsis 

Finn Anderson is a loyal military veteran who has no desire to live a life of luxury and ease, but sometimes a person doesn’t get a choice. His life is flipped upside down when he and his four brothers learn they’re long-lost relatives of the absurdly famous and wealthy Joseph Anderson. The eccentric but generous billionaire puts the brothers to work building a new veterans center, and that’s not all: Joseph won’t stop until each nephew finds love.

Finn has never expected or wanted an easy life, and he struggles with his early retirement from the elite SEAL team. But when a very confident Brooke Garrison literally sweeps him off his feet during a self-defense class he’s teaching, he thinks less about his past and more about a brand-new future.

If Finn knows anything for certain, it’s that he can’t let this woman get away. Though Brooke is tough and compassionate, the loss of her brother has left her vulnerable. She isn’t sure she can risk loving and losing another person in her life, including a very determined ex-SEAL. Can the two of them look beyond their past wounds and embrace what they’re feeling?


Get Your Copy Here


Free in KU


Review
4 Stars 
🌟⭐🌟⭐

Everything happens for a reason.

Finn's army career is cut short after being injured and discharged. He is the oldest of five brothers. He suddenly becomes an heir to the Anderson's empire and is given a project, which would help veterans.

Brooke is mourning the loss of the only family she had. She is afraid of getting close to anyone, for fear of losing them. Her two best friends Sarah and Chloe are practically her sisters.

The first time that Finn meets Brooke, he is struck by lightening and knows that she is the one. Although, she feels attracted to him, Brooke doesn't want a permanent relationship. Her parents are not examplary. She doesn't trust men, but Finn is persistent once he knows what he wants, and he wants Brooke. Will Finn persistence pay off or will Brooke's grief stop her from entering into a relationship?

Finn's way of wooing Brooke is quite commendable. Anything that makes her happy. The banters between him is his brothers are fun, and the support is exceptional. Brooke is kind hearted, but her pessimism always brings out the negatives. It's an interesting romance. There are a lot of mix emotions, but the outcome is delightful.

I was kindly issued with an eARC from Netgalley and the views expressed are my personal opinion.







About the Author 



Melody Anne is a NYT bestselling author of the popular series: Billionaire Bachelors, Surrender, Baby for the Billionaire, Unexpected Hero’s, Billionaire Aviators, Becoming Elena and some solo titles. She also has a Young Adult Series and is currently working on her first Thriller title to be released in 2017. As an aspiring author, she wrote for years, then officially published in 2011, finding her true calling, and a love of writing. Holding a Bachelor’s Degree in business, she loves to write about strong, powerful, businessmen and the corporate world.

When not writing, she spends time with family, friends, and her many pets. A country girl at heart, she loves the small town and strong community she lives in and is involved in many community projects. 

To date, she has over 7 million book sales and has earned multiple placement on varying best seller lists, including NYT’s, USA Today, and WSJ, being an amazon top 100 bestselling author for 3 years in a row, as well as a Kobo and iBooks best-seller. But beyond that, she just loves getting to do what makes her happy – living in a fantasy world 95% of the time.

See her website and subscribe to her newsletter at: www.melodyanne.com


She makes it a point to respond to all fans. You can also join her on her official facebook page: www.facebook.com/melodyanneauthor, or at twitter: @authmelodyanne. Also, follow her blog at authormelodyanne.blogspot.com


Hosted By


Wednesday, September 11, 2019

Always with You (#6 The Connor Family) Layla Hagen - Blog Tour


ALWAYS WITH YOU, the next book in Layla Hagen's Connor Family series, is available now! Get your hands on Hailey and Reid's story now!





About ALWAYS WITH YOU


Ruling his LA hotel empire through determination and hard work, Reid Davenport is a mystery to many. Despite the media’s interest in him, Reid steers clear of the limelight--until his life is broadcast in the tabloids, endangering not only his privacy, but that of his parents and his little sister.

He’d do anything to protect them…except listen to the fiery and intelligent PR pro, who's as beautiful as she is tempting.  Every time she walks into his office, he fantasizes about bending her over his desk and kissing her. Every time she smiles at him, he wants to pull her closer and not let go.

Hailey Connor doesn’t take on uncooperative clients. But the second she meets Reid, she’s compelled to stay and help, even if she must fight his  own broody ass to do it. He’s bossy, demanding and so sinfully alluring that she knows she's in over her head. Reid may be infuriating, but when he talks about his family, she can’t help but melt a little.

With every kiss, they grow closer. With every touch, they fall deeper. They’re opposites…yet perfect matches. But when their different worlds collide, will it tear them apart or bring them together?


Review 
5 Stars
⭐🌟⭐🌟⭐

"Always With You" brings the journey of the brilliant Connor family to its end. It's everything I expected from this author. Everything feels so real throughout the book.

Hayley has played an important role in the series, but her own story is so much more. It gives a good insight of the sort of person she is. Her life experiences are very well fleshed out.

Reid is quite the hero. He navigates through what some would see as a hindrance superbly well. 

When Hayley takes Reid on as a client, he comes across as being difficult, and she doesn't take on uncooperative clients. Once they have established how to handle his controversial issues, they work together well. The chemistry between them is real, but the complications that come with Reid's problems lead to more problems. Due to his difficulties, he has become a creature of habits. He also goes after what he wants. Can he make changes to get what he really wants? 

Hayley has been one of my favourite Connor since the beginning, and reading this shows what she has been through and how strong she is. Reid is very compassionate and willing to compromise when there is a need. 

It didn't take me too long to devour this exquisite story. Reid and Hayley make the perfect couple. This book also revisits other members of the family. The family support is exceptional. Having read the Bennetts story and now, the Connors, I hope that there is more goodness to come from this author. Fully recommended. 

I was kindly issued with an eARC and the views expressed are my personal opinion.

Get your hands on ALWAYS WITH YOU now:




Add ALWAYS WITH YOU to Goodreads!


Want to win?


Layla Hagen has a great giveaway for running on her facebook page and her instagram - head on over to check it out!






Read an Excerpt from ALWAYS WITH YOU


“You can’t just go around commanding everyone to do what you want.”

I loved her fierceness. Her fire. It drew me to her like nothing else.

“Generally, I can. But that wasn’t my intention here.”

Honestly, I had no fucking idea what my intention had been. I’d called Cameron on a whim, which went against everything I knew about myself.

“So what was it, then?” Her eyes flashed. I wanted to kiss her. Lift her up in my arms, hold her against that bar and bury myself inside her.

“You’re beautiful when you’re all worked up like this.”

Her cheeks flushed. “I’m serious. I want an explanation.”

“I don’t have one, Hailey.” I stepped right in front of her, breathing her in, losing myself in her citrusy scent, the shape of her lips. “I’m not an impulsive man, never have been. I don’t make spur of the moment decisions, and I definitely don’t act irrationally.”

I’d always been the type to think everything through, to weigh pros and cons before acting. I wanted to do everything differently with Hailey. Correction. It wasn’t simply that I wanted to. It was something stronger. I had to.

I cupped her cheek. Her eyes widened, but she didn’t attempt to move away.

“Since meeting you, I keep doing things I never thought I would do.”

I cupped her other cheek as well, and when she parted her lips, darting out the tip of her tongue just a bit, licking that lower lip, I couldn’t control myself anymore. I buried my hands in her luscious hair, kissing her hard. I needed to explore every single curve.

Most of all I needed to know what she needed and give her exactly that.

I moved to kiss her cheek, up her temple, then down to her neck. Hailey hummed slightly, and it was all the encouragement I needed. I slipped a hand between us, touching her breast, circling the nipple until I felt it tighten and push through the fabric. I remembered how it had felt to touch her in the pool, how I’d barely kept myself from slipping my hands under the tiny bikini and touching her bare skin. I couldn’t hold back tonight. It was impossible.

I lifted her dress, turning rock hard when I realized she already had goose bumps on her thighs, as if she’d been yearning for my touch just as much as I’d been craving to give it to her.

"Always With You" brings the journey of the brilliant Connor family to its end. It's everything I expected from this author. Everything feels so real throughout the book.

Hayley has played an important role in the series, but her own story is so much more. It gives a good insight of the sort of person she is. Her life experiences are very well fleshed out.

Reid is quite the hero. He navigates through what some would see as a hindrance superbly well. 

When Hayley takes Reid on as a client, he comes across as being difficult, and she doesn't take on uncooperative clients. Once they have established how to handle his controversial issues, they work together well. The chemistry between them is real, but the complications that come with Reid's problems lead to more problems. Due to his difficulties, he has become a creature of habits. He also goes after what he wants. Can he make changes to get what he really wants? 

Hayley has been one of my favourite Connor since the beginning, and reading this shows what she has been through and how strong she is. Reid is very compassionate and willing to compromise when there is a need. 

It didn't take me too long to devour this exquisite story. Reid and Hayley make the perfect couple. This book also revisits other members of the family. The family support is exceptional. Having read the Bennetts story and now, the Connors, I hope that there is more goodness to come from this author. Fully recommended. 

I was kindly issued with an eARC and the views expressed are my personal opinion.


About Layla Hagen


Layla Hagen is a USA Today bestselling author of contemporary romance.


She fell in love with books when she was nine years old, and her love affair with stories continues even now, many years later.


She writes steamy and romantic stories and can’t wait to share them with the world.


She is represented by fabulous Louise Fury (The Bent Agency)

Tuesday, September 03, 2019

Chris (#3 The Guzzi Legacy) Bethany-Kris - Blog Tour

CHRIS


by Bethany-Kris
Guzzi Legacy, #3
Publication Date: September 2, 2019
Genres: Adult, STANDALONE, Romantic Suspense, Organized Crime. 
Erotic Romance





AVAILABLE NOW!















SYNOPSIS


A made man versus the cartel


The job was simplea contract from a powerful crime family to retrieve Valeria LΓ²pez. A woman believed to have been forcibly taken by one of the major cartels in Mexico. Easy enough, right?


Christopher Guzzi thought so, but the details made it difficult. He didnt expect to trick his way into the path of the cartel leader only to develop feelings for the woman he was meant to recover. That leaders wife. Every step he takes is risky, and one wrong move could leave them both dead. Too bad thats not enough to keep him away from Valeria as he tries to find a way to free her.


Hope is a dangerous thing.
Love is even worse.
Here, everybody plays dirty.
No one can be trusted.
So, how do they get out alive?
*


Note: Chris is book 3 in The Guzzi Legacy. It is a standalone novel.

goodreads-badge-add-38px



Review 
5 Stars
🌟⭐🌟⭐🌟

This family is growing on me as much as the Marcellos did. Every story in this series has so much feel that I could almost be there with the characters.

Chris is so different from his identical twin brother Corrado, yet there are so many similarities. The love for his family and his loyalty to those diserving are delightful, but beware when he is crossed. 

Val has suffered a few tragedies in her life, but she has good reasons to stay strong. She hasn't had much luck in her life. Hope is about the only thing that she can cling to.

When Chris volunteered for a rescue mission, he didn't know that his life was going change. He didn't know what to expect on this mission, but his observation skill and his experience tell him all he needs to know. His reaction to Val and her daughter is not what they are used to, and their interactions are beguiling. The chemistry between him and Val are so palpable that it seeps through the pages. Can Val dare hope that there is light at the end of the tunnel? 

Chris is everything a hero should be. He is charming and always keeps his promises. Val risks everything, hoping that she will get the freedom she craves. The story revolves around trust, hope, love and compassion. It's a bumpy ride, but one so worth taking. The end is absolutely breathtaking. Another Guzzi smasher. 

I was kindly issued with an eARC and the views expressed are my personal opinion. 


ABOUT BETHANY-KRIS



Bethany-Kris is a Canadian author, lover of much, and mother to four young sons, one cat, and two dogs. A small town in Eastern Canada where she was born and raised is where she has always called home. With her boys under her feet, snuggling cat, barking dogs, and a hubby calling over his shoulder, she is nearly always writing something  when she can find the time.


To keep up-to-date with new releases from Bethany-Kris, sign up to her New Release Newsletter here:http://eepurl.com/bf9lzD



ENTER THE GIVEAWAY




Wednesday, August 21, 2019

The Bat (The Red Grouse Tales) Leslie Garland


The Bat 
The Red Grouse Tales

Author 
Leslie Garland 

Publication Date 
29 April 2019 

Genre 
Coming of Age Tale


What is true? What is truth?

An adult, speculative, spiritual and philosophical coming of age story.

An old and now sceptical Thomas looks back on the events of his last term at school when his class returned to a new beautiful class teacher, a donation of stuffed animals and birds by an eccentric benefactor and the increasingly strange events which followed. Zoological specimens appeared to be not quite as dead as they looked. A bell-jar which had contained a stuffed bat shattered during an exorcism, after which what had been strange events turned to being sinister and frightening.

As a then naive young Thomas searched for the truth, he found himself, questioning ‘good and evil’, realising that his task is not as simple and straightforward as he would have wished and in so doing loosing his innocence and having to accept that belief may have as much to do with truth as do facts. 

A tale for those who like to think on what they are reading.

(Warning to sensitive readers; the story is an adult one and so does contain references to sex)








4 Stars
🌟⭐🌟⭐

This is another tale that is recounted in "The Red Grouse Inn". The philosophy is centred around faith, belief and truth.

Tom goes back to his schooldays where there were some unusual and spooky developments. 

It all started when a crate of stuffed zoological specimens were donated to the school. Within one of the glass cages was a bat. 

Teddy and Bobby were brothers and portrayed the expression of "boys will be boys" very well. The factors to their questions were brought about by one of their extracurricular activities and one particular discussion in the classroom. These questions only raised more questions as to what the appropriate answer might be. Do you believe in faith or truth? 

To make the story more interesting, it erred on the side of the occult. The mystery behind some of the events could be debated as there were no conclusive answers to them. They were very well fleshed out, even though the mysteries remain just that. 

It's one of those stories that make us examine our beliefs. I am sure readers will have some of the answers in common, but there is a lot of room for debate. It's an interesting story and if you like to scrutinise your own idealogy, then this is for you. 

I was kindly issued with an eARC and the views expressed are my personal opinion. 





I was born in 1949, qualified as a Chartered Civil Engineer and worked for several years on projects in the UK, the Far East and Africa. During this period I won the Institution of Civil Engineers “Miller Prize” for a paper on tunnelling. Changing times resulted in a change in direction and after qualifying as an Associate Member of both the British Institute of Professional Photography and the Royal Photographic Society I started my own stock photograph library and wrote for the trade press. An unexpected break in my Internet connection fortuitously presented the time to make a start on a long cherished project of a series of novella length stories, and the first story of “The Red Grouse Tales”, was drafted. Three more tales have followed and I am now working on a second batch of tales. I live with my wife in Northumberland, England.







Translate