Showing posts with label Reviews. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Reviews. Show all posts

Saturday, February 24, 2018

No Place Like You (#3 A Cloud Bay Novel) Emma Douglas


Author 
Emma Douglas 

Publication Date 
5 December 2017 

Genre 
Contemporary Romance 



Home—in the island village of Cloud Bay—is where the heart is. . .
Leah Santelli always knew that Zach Harper, son of a rock legend and her best friend’s brother, was painfully out of reach. Then, on the night of her eighteenth birthday, Leah shocked herself by asking for—and receiving—the gift she wanted: one night of passion with Zach before he left town to pursue his rock star dreams. Now, years later, Zach is back in Cloud Bay to record his first solo album. His return could also be Leah’s big chance to step up her own music career. But getting the producing credit she needs means spending long hours with Zach in the recording studio…and falling back into the habit of longing for him, for better or worse.
Zach used to believe that a man must put his past behind him. But coming back home for Cloud Bay’s famed music festival has allowed him to finally make amends with his family and, much to his surprise, reunite with Leah. He might have left her once but now it seems he can’t stay away. Trouble is, even though the heat between them burns hotter than ever, Leah has old wounds in need of healing before she can give Zach a real chance. Can he find a way to convince her that they can make more than just great music together—and that she’s the one that he wants for all time?









When I read the previous book in the series, I fell in love with the beautiful setting of Cloud Bay and the captivating storyline. No Place Like You is just as captivating.

Zach, a native of Cloud Bay left to persue his musical career, leaving his friends and family with pain, heartache and resentment. Ten years later and he has returned to explore a different aspect of his career. 

Leah is Zach's sister's best friend and works in their family music studio. She hasn't had much luck in her love life and is now looking to advance in her career as a music producer.

Zach's return stirs old memories and a longing that Leah didn't expect. With him going solo and her new career aspiration, it's the perfect opportunity for them to work together. After some gentle persuasion, Zach agrees to give it a go. Leah keeps telling herself that she can keep this arrangement on a strictly business basis. Somehow, she can’t forget about what happened between them all those years ago and decides to take matters into her own hands. Zach is game. They agree that it's a temporary arrangement as Zach would be leaving again sooner or later. Easier said than done! They spend quality time making sweet music in the studio as well as in the bedroom. 

When the plans for the music festival take an unexpected turn, Zach reverts to his old self. He leaves an emotional turmoil behind, only this time, he gets a dose of his own medicine. Can he make amends or is it too late to salvage what could have been the best thing for them?

Although Zach can be stubborn and oblivious to his true feelings, he is a lovable character. Leah shows her strength of character when she takes a chance and hopes for the best. She is a loyal friend and adorable with it. This second chance story has its up and downs. There is love and passion. Mistakes are made. Lessons are learnt. It's a beautiful storyline in an idealistic setting. A rewarding read, indeed.

I was kindly issued with an eARC from the publisher via NetGalley and the views expressed are my personal opinion.




Emma Douglas has read like a wild thing since she was small. She discovered romance novels at an age that way probably way too young but she survived unscathed. When she realized you could make up stories as well as read them, she started taking notes about what the characters wandering through her head were telling her and then, eventually, books happened. 

Before the books happened she did the usual things (was a band geek (and a geek generally), had crushes on rock stars and fictional characters, spent chunks of her summers on an island beach, got a degree in something sensible that doesn’t involve writing about kissing, became a black belt in internet procrastination, fell down the rabbit-hole of craft, traveled a bit, indulged her love of baked goods, got bossed around by cats, began a quest for the perfect margarita, and napped to recover from all of the above. 

She still does most of that plus the writing thing from a tiny house which her feline overlords have kindly agreed to share with her.






Friday, February 23, 2018

The Amber Exilir (#1 A Two Realms Novella) Ariella Moon - Blog Tour






The Amber Elixir
Ariella Moon
(A Two Realms Novella, #1)
Publication date: October 3rd 2017
Genres: Fantasy, Young Adult

Viviane, the new Lady of the Lake and High Priestess of Avalon, accepts a challenge from Merlin unaware her bold actions will have tragic consequences. Two of her priestesses are turned to stone. A forbidden love deserts her. Now alone, she has six young handmaidens to train and protect.

When Morgan le Fay demands assistance with a spell that could change the balance of power in the Two Realms, Viviane refuses her. But what if Morgan’s secret knowledge could restore the stone priestesses? Will an alliance prompt Viviane’s love to return? Or will the gamble cost her all she holds dear?




Review 
3 Stars
🌟🌟🌟

This is an introduction to A Two Realms Trilogy. It's set in the Arthurian era where magic reigned.

Vivianne is Merlin's apprentice and the new lady of the lake. Confident in her magic, she accepts a challenge from Merlin and as a result has to endure a severe punishment. Avalon is now in a dire state and she has to find a way to right the wrongs.

Morrain, a water fay comes across an object that she considers to be a "treasure" and delivers this to Mab, the Fay Queen. Her reward is not quite what she expects. Morgan Le Fay has her own agenda which just so happens to be linked to that particular object. Vivianne's quest to make amends leads her to make a bad decision. A decision which threatens her purpose and those in her care.

This novella consists of several layers. Merlin's intentions are not quite clear. Morgan's behaviour is conflicting and Mab remains a bit of a mystery despite the assumptions being made about her.

Although Vivianne makes some progress, there are more questions to be answered. This contains white and dark magic with the elements of deceit and greed for power. It's a complex and interesting introduction to the series.

I was kindly issued with an eARC and the views expressed are my personal opinion.

Author Bio


Ariella Moon draws upon her experiences as a shaman and former teen to create magical Young Adult fiction. Her series include The Two Realms Trilogy, a medieval Scotland and Fairy fantasy adventure, and The Teen Wytche Saga, a series of sweet contemporary paranormal romances. Moon’s “Covert Hearts” appears in Second Chances: A Romance Writers of America Collection.

Ms. Moon spent her childhood flying to rooftops in her dreams and searching for a magical wardrobe that would transport her to Narnia. Extreme math anxiety and taller students who mistook her for a leaning post, marred her youth. Despite these horrors, she graduated summa cum laude from the University of California at Davis. She lives a nearly normal life doting on her extraordinary daughter, two shamelessly spoiled dogs, and a media-shy dragon.






GIVEAWAY!
a Rafflecopter giveaway

XBTBanner1

Wednesday, February 21, 2018

Poison Kisses (#3 Poison Kisses Serials) Lisa Renee Jones - Now Available


Author 
Lisa Renee Jones 

Genre
Contemporary Romance 

Publication Date 
20 January 2018 



what to hide, because they know what is unforgivable to you. Now that I know what Seth hid from me, I want the secret to be the lie. I don't want to kill him. I don't want to leave him. I guess that is why they say there is a fine line between love and hate. I love and hate that man with such passion, that it damn near hurts. But now, as we face down our shared enemies, as we are lead right back to an explosive discover about my family, and to the night Seth and I parted ways, we will both be exposed in every way. And it's time for me to decide if I plan to love Seth Cage for the rest of my life, or kill him, before he kills me.
***Part three of the three part Poison Kisses Serial****









This finale is superbly delivered and nicely wraps up the loose ends from the first two parts of Poison Kisses.

This part is told in Amanda's POV and starts off with a flash back of what happened on that fateful night, three years ago. It then continues from where it left in the previous book. 

Amanda is heartbroken at what she has just discovered and she is conflicted between the past and the present. Seth has to gain her trust once again even though the revelation is damning. They still have a way to go to stop the villain from reaching his evil goal. Too many lives are at risk and the best way forward is to work together. In the process, they uncover the secrets behind the mysteries and some of the findings are gobsmacking. The corruption within the authorities knows no bound and every step they take is dangerous. Knowing who to trust is frustrating, but together, they are a force to be reckoned with. In more ways than one!

Poison Kisses is an intricately crafted plot. The mystery, the danger, the betrayal and the suspense make for a compulsive read. Seth and Amanda are strong and engaging characters. Their love for each other is very palpable and so beautiful. Bear and Julie make a valuable contribution to the story and it's so nice to catch up with Brandon and Emily. I devoured and savoured every part of this story. 

I was kindly issued with an eARC and the views expressed are my personal opinion.


Previous Books In The Serials


Poison Kisses Part 1
Amanda Skye made me want her. She made me trust her. She made me love her. Then she betrayed me. And now, a madman brings us together again and before our battle with him is over, I will make sure that she never forgets my name: Seth Cage. The Fixer for The Brandon Family Empire, but to a covert CIA operation, I will always be The Assassin. And to Amanda, I will be the man who made her moan, sigh, and beg. And I will make her beg.
***Note -- Poison Kisses is part 1 of a 3 part serial: All three parts are super sexy with an alpha man who has met his match in a kickass female. There will be naked moments that may or may not include a gun, which may or may not be his gun. ****




Poison Kisses Part 2
I loved her. She left me. She betrayed me but now it's time to open the closed doors. I'll tell her my secret if she tells me hers. Our history, is more than lies. It's our story, and I will do whatever it takes to reveal it all. I'm the Assassin, She's The Poison Princess. We're going to kill the bad guys, but we're still deciding if we're enemies. The one thing for certain, is we're both going to strip down and get bare.
***Part two of the sexy, thrilling three part Poison Kisses serial****







New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Lisa Renee Jones is the author of the highly acclaimed INSIDE OUT series. Suzanne Todd (producer of Alice in Wonderland) on the INSIDE OUT series: Lisa has created a beautiful, complicated, and sensual world that is filled with intrigue and suspense. Sara’s character is strong, flawed, complex, and sexy - a modern girl we all can identify with.

In addition to the success of Lisa's INSIDE OUT series, she has published many successful titles. The TALL, DARK AND DEADLY series and THE SECRET LIFE OF AMY BENSEN series, both spent several months on a combination of the New York Times and USA Today bestselling lists. Lisa is presently working on a dark, edgy new series, Dirty Money, for St. Martin's Press.
Prior to publishing Lisa owned multi-state staffing agency that was recognized many times by The Austin Business Journal and also praised by the Dallas Women's Magazine. In 1998 Lisa was listed as the #7 growing women owned business in Entrepreneur Magazine.







Tuesday, February 20, 2018

From Geek to Greek Billionaire by Gloria Silk


Author 
Gloria Silk 

Genre
Contemporary Romance 

Publication Date 
1 December 2017


Olivia Moore has landed her dream job—to renovate a very special beach house for her best friend, Maria. The last thing Olivia needs is to bump into her teen crush, the geeky yet sexy Alexander Anderson. The young man she fell deeply in love with is now her best friend’s brother-in-law. 

When the shy, enigmatic bachelor asks for Olivia’s help with a special makeover and an infusion of confidence to woo a particular woman (unaware that she’s the one he’s after) she wants nothing to do with him. After all despite her generous nature to help everyone, she cannot risk getting closer to him. What if she falls in love with him again and then if he discovers her secret past, which she is still coming to terms with, it may tear them apart forever? 

(This bestselling story is an expanded and enhanced 40,000 word novelette which was first published as part of the amazing Billionaires on the Beach Anthology which donated 100% of the proceeds for breast cancer in summer of 2017.)









This romantic novella addresses a sensitive medical issue and how those involved react to such a delicate and difficult situation.

Olivia is an interior designer with a younger sister as her only family. She is blessed with two supportive best friends who want nothing more than to see her happy. 

Alexander is a successful billionnaire who thrives on helping those in need. He has a large close knit family, but something from his past repetitively puts a damper on his love life.

Alexander and Olivia are youngsters working together in preparation for a charity gala when they develop a deep connection and one thing leads to another. A jealous worker gives Alexander false information about Olivia and instead of tackling her, he runs away. Back to Greece. 

Over nine years later whilst Olivia is working on a renovation project, she runs into Alexander. Seeing each other again brings mixed feelings. First joy, then anger, hurt and resentment. He wants to discuss the past event and the reasons why he left, but she doesn't trust him anymore. Even though they are both aware that their feelings are as strong as before, neither of them expect each other's reaction. He is persistent and resorts to scheming to spend time with her. It works, and they fall into a comfortable friendship which leads to passionate interactions. Alexander isn't aware of what Olivia has been through and the difficulties that she has faced. Will he run when he uncovers the truth or show her how he really feels? 

Olivia is kind, courageous and always willing to give a helping hand, but she has insecurities. Quite understandable! Alexander is loyal, loving, hardworking and generous, but he too has insecurities for different reasons. It's a deeply emotional story where there are pain and tears. Despite everything, the author manages to include humour to make for a lighter read. 

This romance is very touching. Watching Alexander and Olivia struggle with their feelings is excruciating. They are destined for each other and the end is what they rightly deserve. It's beautifully portrayed and the primary and secondary characters are totally believable. 

I was kindly issued with an eARC and the views expressed are my personal opinion. 







USA Today Bestselling Author, Gloria Silk, writes empowering, sensuous international romance. Her books are filled with intense passion and swoon-worthy happy-ever-afters. The love stories concentrate on the many facets of romantic relationships and strong and complex family bonds.

Her debut novel 'First and Only Destiny' and 'Second Destiny' have been re-released in their second editions. 

The long awaited 'Nobody's Baby But Mine is out on August 31, and 'Breaking the Chains' is out in the fall of 2017.

Gloria Silk was born in Russia and was brought up in England. She has lived in Europe and the Mediterranean and loves to travel. Her background in English literature, writing, and psychology help her create well-rounded, unique characters for her intercultural love stories. She's also an artist (using watercolors and acrylics) and a designer, and is published in non-fiction as Tanya Freedman.

Gloria now lives - and writes - in Toronto, Ontario, Canada, with her own hero-husband, lovely daughter, and Cockapoo Princess Bella.








Twisted End (0.7 Sons of Broad) Tara Thomas


Author 
Tara Thomas 

Genre
Romantic Suspense 

Publication Date 
20 February 2018




From New York Times bestselling author Tara Sue Me, writing as Tara Thomas, comes an explosive new romantic suspense series.

Welcome to the sultry streets of Charleston, where simmering desire and dark danger rule...

First comes desire.
Then comes love.
But Janie and Brent need to stop the man out to ruin them,

Before they can live happily ever after…






In this last installment, the suspense keeps building as the imminent danger creates chaos, pain and heartache.

Janie's realisation about the identity of the murderer comes a little too late. Brent is frantic and fears for her safety which doesn't look promising. Alyssa, her best friend is in a state of shock, but knows where her loyalty lies. This time, the hunt is on for the murderer. He is a dangerous chauvinist! Can Brent and Alyssa salvage the situation and bring Janie back where she belongs? 

As everything comes to a head, justice is done, but the orchestrator behind this devious plot remains at large. His identity and objective remain a mystery. 

I have thoroughly enjoyed reading Brent's and Janie's story which ends on a beautiful note and would fully recommend. 

I was kindly issued with an eARC and the views expressed are my personal opinion.




Tara Thomas’s love of books and writing started as a child and though she wanted to be an author, she decided a degree in science was more practical. After fifteen years in the pharmaceutical industry, she returned to her first love and hasn’t looked back since.
She writes erotic romance as Tara Sue Me. Her Submissive Series novels have been on both the New York Times and USA Today Bestseller lists. Her novel THE MASTER earned a starred review from Publisher’s Weekly, was awarded Best Romance of 2016 from Best Book Awards, and is a 2017 RITA Finalist for Best Erotic Romance.









Monday, February 19, 2018

When the Stars Come Out (#5 Cottonbloom) Laura Trentham


Author 
Laura Trentham 

Genre
Contemporary Romance 

Publication Date 
30 January 2018


Cottonbloom. A beautiful, faraway place where a woman can escape her past—and find reason to stay forever in Laura Trentham's When the Stars Come Out. . .
Willa Brown never planned to stay in Cottonbloom. She was on the way to somewhere else when she landed there and found work at the Abbot brothers’ garage. . .and a sense of comfort and safety that she had never known. The same holds true for Jackson Abbott himself. With one glance in her direction, he can make Willa’s heart melt. But what begins as an unrequited crush turns into something far more powerful than Willa could have ever imagined. . .
Jackson’s most meaningful relationship has always been with his car—and he’s not afraid to admit it. Still, he can’t help but become emotionally entangled with his new star mechanic Willa, who is definitely hiding some dark secrets of her own beneath the hood. Jackson desperately wants Willa to trust him, and to seek protection in his arms. But even as the two slowly surrender to their shared attraction, the danger lurking in Willa’s past remains a stubborn obstacle. Can she open up enough to give them both a chance at having real and lasting love?












Cottonbloom is a marvellous backdrop for this alluring romance.

Jackson is one of the four Abbott brothers who own and manage a motormechanic, and restoration garage. His first love is his classic Mustang!

Willa has been working in the garage for the past two years. She does her best to stay "invisible", but one of the best mechanics in town.

The brothers don't know much about Willa's past and have respected her privacy up to now. When Jackson starts to notice her, not as a coworker, but as a woman, he wants to know more about her. She has admired him from day one, but her secrets hang over her head with the threat that she might have to leave at short notice.

Once Jackson realises how much her leaving would affect him, he starts to cautiously delve into her past. Willa is torn as she doesn't really want to leave her modest life in Cottonbloom. He is set on gaining her trust and help her with whatever her issues are, if she would let him. After all the events leading her to Cottonbloom, she has difficulties in trusting anyone. Can Jackson gain the trust that he craves to keep her by his side?

Jackson and Willia are similar in many ways. Expressing their feelings doesn't come easy. I admire Jackson's gentleness and patience. Willa's strength materialises when she decides to face her past instead of staying on the run. The romance starts as a slow burn until it reaches a boiling point. It's a delightful read even though it's slow in places. It's a well carved storyline with well developed characters. A captivating novel well worth reading.

I was kindly issued with an eARC and the views expressed are my personal opinion.






I was born and raised in a small town in Northwest Tennessee. Although, I loved English and reading in high school, I was convinced an English degree equated to starvation! So, I chose the next most logical major - Chemical Engineering- and worked in a hard hat and steel toed boots for several years. Now I live in South Carolina with my husband and two children. In between school and homework and soccer practices, I love to get lost in another world, whether its Regency England or small town Alabama.










Translate