Showing posts with label Reviews. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Reviews. Show all posts

Tuesday, August 15, 2017

The Truth About Porn Star Boyfriends by Sunniva Dee - Book Blitz






The Truth about Porn Star Boyfriends
Sunniva Dee
Publication date: August 15th 2017
Genres: Contemporary, New Adult, Romance

I guess I just forgot.

To ask him what he did for a living, I mean.

And by the time I did, I was in—balls deep, as he’d call it.

He was the perfect boyfriend.

Attentive, gorgeous, guessing my every wish and fulfilling them.

The sex was earth-shattering.

He even dealt with my crazy mom the way no one else could.

He popped the question, God, such a perfect guy.

There was just one issue:

He f*cked other girls on camera for a living.

How the hell do you deal with that?


Review 
5 Stars 
🌟 🌟 🌟 🌟 🌟 


Given the title and description of this book, I wasn’t quite sure what to expect. Having read most of this author's previous books, I knew deep down that she would come up trumps. I wasn't wrong! 

Savannah works as a waitress besides her two other jobs of dog walking and marketing. She also looks out for her mother. She shares accommodation with an interesting bunch of characters, happy with her way of life. 

Ciro is a porn star. Something that he has been involved in from a young age and has learnt to divorce his work from his private life. After all, it's just a job and he's had his fun. Now he wants a normal life, but not many women would settle with someone in his line of work. 

Whilst having lunch in the restaurant, Savannah catches his eyes. It's something about her eyes! He asks her out and she doesn't understand why someone like him would be interested in someone like her. She considers herself to be ordinary. He is every woman's dream. They get on really well, but she doesn't want commitments, whereas that's exactly what he wants. He is not easily deterred and he pursues her relentlessly until she relents. The chemistry between them is off the chart, but she doesn't know what he does for a living. She accidentally stumbles upon the evidence of his occupation and she is gutted. How can she have a relationship with someone who earns a living by having sex for an audience? Can they come to a compromise? 

I admire Ciro for his caring, protectective and positive attitude. Savannah is fun, loving and hard working. There is a lot of soul searching and emotional disquiet between them. There are some beautiful moments and some agonising ones. Watching two people so much in love struggle to find a happy medium that will give them both what they want is heartrending. The whole thing is wrapped up beautifully! It's certainly different and well worth reading. 


I was kindly issued with an eARC from author and the views expressed are my personal opinion. 



EXCERPT

I slept over at his house. I did. I just couldn’t go home after everything he told me. I didn’t accept the invite to come with him on the boat today though. I didn’t ask him if he was going without me either. If he is, wouldn’t he be inviting some “friends,” some Alicias or Silks? I don’t want to know.

It’s not difficult to get my shifts back at Mintrer’s. With Il Signore’s nonna at the hospital, the family spends as much time at her bedside as they can.

Mom calls.

She sounds okay.

I need to verify in person even though Paul is next door, hopefully keeping her busy with his garden statues and homemade fountains. He likes my quirky mother because he’s quirky himself. That’s my guess anyway. I don’t think I can handle any new rocks hurled at Status Quo at the moment, especially not from Mom.

The boat is ready.

I only returned to my house two hours again, and this is what Ciro texts me? I roll my eyes. Frieda lowers the bagel she held up for me—everything or just sesame seeds?—and says, “That isn’t the porn star, is it?”

“Yeah, it’s Drake Constantine.” I pull out the syllables mocking him even though each sound opens my chest again.

“Well, at least he’s got a nice artist name. He’s no Jake daBoner or Cassius Erectus.”

I snort.

“Drake Constantine boned me in the ass last night,” she quotes as if from Shakespeare. She gazes beyond the bagel she now holds up like a skull.

I chuckle a little bit, and Frieda smiles. Smiles so wide it makes me feel guilty over everything I’ve put her through. I know she suffers with me. She didn’t sleep last night knowing I was with Ciro.

“What’s he saying?”

“He tells me he’s got the boat ready.”

“For that Catalina trip?”

“Mhmm.”

“You’re not doing that too, are you?” She drops the halves of the bagel into the toaster.

“Not the everything,” I say. “Can I have the sesame seed one instead?”

She presses her mouth together in a stern line but listens and fishes the everything one out and drops the sesame bagel in instead. “Happy now?”

“Very.”

“You’re not going, right?”

“No.” I want to slap my heart and my body for agreeing that we should say yes. “I already told you. I’m visiting Mom this morning, and then I’m working. If I get to do some overtime this weekend, I’m happy. I need the money, and I really don’t want to mope around the house.”

I’ll wait for you if you’re asleep.

I said I wasn’t going. Can’t. We

I hit “send” before I can finish the “We’re over, remember?” part. It was easier to yell it to him when I was furious. Today, I don’t know how I feel.

Why can’t you? He doesn’t ask about the We part? He knows.

“He’s so stubborn,” I murmur and type again.

Because, when are you seeing someone else for a f*** fest?

He deserves that I’m being crude. Hell, he’s being crude every hour of every work day.

He takes a moment to reply. Long enough for Frieda to scoot a plate and the tub of cream cheese in front of me. “Stop texting with him. You’re only dragging it out. You know that, right? I thought you’d blocked him.”

“He has a work phone too. On-freaking-call cell. Ha!”




Author Bio



Between studies, teaching, and advising, Sunniva has spent her entire adult life in a college environment. Most of her novels are new adult romance geared toward smart, passionate readers with a love for eclectic language and engaging their brain as well as their heart while reading.

Born in the Land of the Midnight Sun, the author spent her early twenties making the world her playground. Southern Europe: Spain, Italy, Greece--Argentina: Buenos Aires, in particular. The United States finally kept her interest, and after half a decade in Los Angeles, she now lounges in the beautiful city of Savannah.

Sometimes, Sunniva writes with a paranormal twist (Shattering Halos, Stargazer, and Cat Love). At other times, it's contemporary (Pandora Wild Child, Leon's Way, Adrenaline Crush, Walking Heartbreak, and Dodging Trains, coming in late March 2016).

This author is the happiest when her characters let their emotions run off with them, shaping her stories in ways she never foresaw. She loves bad-boys and good-boys run amok, and like in real life, her goal is to keep the reader on her toes until the end of each story.







GIVEAWAY!
a Rafflecopter giveaway

XBTBanner1

Monday, August 14, 2017

Silent Weapon (#2 Street Soldier) Andy McNab


Author                          Andy McNab 
Publication Date         10 August 2017 
Genre                             Young Adult Thriller 



HOW DO YOU FIGHT AN INVISIBLE ENEMY?
A high-speed chase through the backstreets of Lagos and an unexpected bomb explosion in the jungle – it’s all in a day’s work for soldier Sean Harker.
Looking forward to a well-earned break back home, Sean and his platoon fly back to the UK, only to find themselves fighting their way out of an airport hostage situation, and the country on high terrorist alert.
Barely escaping with his life, Sean must now embark on a dangerous mission: to locate a deadly weapon, capable of destruction on a massive scale
. . . a weapon no one will see coming.






In Street Soldier, Sean was a delinquent from a poor background. He was part of a street gang, until he was given a break which changed his life. Although, this can be read as a standalone, the first installment gives a good grasp of how Sean comes to be where he is now. 

Six months of training and fighting against the insurgents in Nigeria is coming to its end. Sean and his unit have only hours to go, before returning to England. They are looking forward to a well earned break in Spain. 

Despite, the severity of the threats, this story starts on a fairly lighthearted note. Sean and his best friend Bright take great delight into taking the mickey out of the new recruits. Not in a nasty way. It's all in good fun and I found myself grinning on a few occasions. 

Their return trip to England doesn't go as planned and they face a hostile situation at the airport. There are different theories about this attack, but nothing is as it seems. The attackers are connected to Sean's home town and he comes under scrutiny before he is "volunteered" to assist with the investigations. The small team involved includes MI5. Time is of essence! Lives depend on it. 

Sean is more mature and his problem solving skills are impressive. The team is looking for weapons stashed by the terrorists, but what they find turns out to be more lethal. It's so deadly that other special units have to be brought in. Will they have enough time to save the day? 

It's fast paced, full of action and mysteries. I like the author's sense of humour, which lightens the severity of the story. There are some strong messages about the perception of radicalision. It's a fascinating concept that could easily turn into reality. This thriller would appeal to readers of all ages. 

I was kindly issued with an eARC from the publisher via NetGalley and the views expressed are my personal opinion. 






Andy McNab joined the infantry in 1976 as a boy soldier. In 1984 he was badged as a member of 22 SAS Regiment. He served in B Squadron 22 SAS for ten years and worked on both covert and overt special operations worldwide, including anti-terrorist and anti-drug operations in the Middle and Far East, South and Central America and Northern Ireland.

Trained as a specialist in counter terrorism, prime target elimination, demolitions, weapons and tactics, covert surveillance and information gathering in hostile environments, and VIP protection, McNab worked on cooperative operations with police forces, prison services, anti-drug forces and western backed guerrilla movements as well as on conventional special operations. In Northern Ireland he spent two years working as an undercover operator with 14th Intelligence Group, going on to become an instructor.

McNab also worked as an instructor on the SAS selection and training team and instructed foreign special forces in counter terrorism, hostage rescue and survival training.

Andy McNab has written about his experiences in the SAS in two bestselling books, Bravo Two Zero (1993) and Immediate Action (1995). Bravo Two Zero is the highest selling war book of all time and has sold over 1.7 million copies in the UK. To date it has been published in 17 countries and translated into 16 languages. The CD spoken word version of Bravo Two Zero, narrated by McNab, sold over 60,000 copies and earned a silver disc. The BBC's film of Bravo Two Zero, starring Sean Bean, was shown on primetime BBC 1 television in 1999 and released on DVD in 2000.

Immediate Action, McNab's autobiography, spent 18 weeks at the top of the bestseller lists following the lifting on an ex-parte injunction granted to the Ministry of Defence in September 1995. To date, Immediate Action has now sold over 1.4 million copies in the UK.

McNab is the author of seven fast action thrillers, highly acclaimed for their authenticity and all Sunday Times bestsellers. Published in 1997, Remote Control was hailed as the most authentic thriller ever written and has sold over half a million copies in the UK. McNab's subsequent thrillers, Crisis Four, Firewall, Last Light , Liberation Day , Dark Winter , Deep Black and Aggressor have all gone on to sell equally well. The central character in all the books is Nick Stone, a tough ex-SAS operative working as a 'K' on deniable operations for British Intelligence.

McNab's fiction draws extensively on his experiences and knowledge of Special Forces soldiering. He has been officially registered by Neilsen Bookscan as the bestselling British thriller writer of the last year.







For 100 Reasons (#3 100 Series) Lara Adrian


Author                              Lara Adrian 
Publication Date            31 July 2017 
Genre                               Adult Romance 




Billionaire Dominic Baine stepped into Avery Ross’s life when it was at its lowest. Obsessed with the beautiful, struggling artist, Nick was determined to have her. What began as a scorching seduction soon burned out of control, exploding into a white-hot passion neither of them could deny. 

Yet Nick and Avery are two damaged people, both haunted by dark secrets with the power to destroy them. And for Nick, the ugly past that shaped him cannot compare to the unforgivable deception that drives Avery from his arms, from his life. Now the man accustomed to having everything he desires must find a way to redeem himself to the only woman he has ever loved. 

Avery Ross has known heartbreak. She has known betrayal and loss, but nothing like the pain that loving Dominic Baine has brought into her life. Reeling from the aftermath of his devastating revelation, instead of allowing despair to break her, she builds herself into something stronger—the fearless woman and gifted artist that Nick’s passion has taught her to be. Yet her heart is in pieces, and despite everything she has, the one thing she needs is the man whose possessive desires and consuming love holds the power to either save them both or shatter her forever. . . . 

FOR 100 REASONS is the sensual, suspenseful conclusion to the acclaimed 100 Series from New York Times and #1 international bestselling author Lara Adrian. Don't miss the first two books, FOR 100 DAYS and FOR 100 NIGHTS, available now. 







For 100 Reasons has to be my favourite out of this trilogy, for more reasons than I can mention. It's an absolute gem! 

Nick and Avery are struggling with their feelings after the revelation that broke Avery's heart. Nick isn't unscathed either! Neither of them knows what the other one is going through. Avery being a survivor is making the most of what she does best. Putting all her efforts into her talent which is actually paying off, but the one thing she craves is out of her reach. For once, Nick doesn't know how to go about getting what he wants. His secrets are so dark that he wants to keep them buried as deep as he can. If only that was the solution! 

Avoiding each other hasn't been easy, but they have managed until now! It only takes one chance encounter for them to have the profound desire to rekindle what they once had. Avery isn't sure that she can ever trust Nick again. She can't afford to go through another heartache. Can Nick prove that he is worthy of her trust? 

This series has been the ultimate emotional rollercoaster, but this last installment brings so much more to the surface. Finally, the reasons for Nick's deep seated torments come to light. The twist at the end is unexpected and astonishing. The chemistry between Nick and Avery is as intense and as undeniable as ever. There is more than lust to their relationship. It's sensual, loving and beautiful. 

I received a complimentary eARC from the author in exchange for an honest review.







LARA ADRIAN is a New York Timesand #1 internationally best-selling author with nearly 4 million books in print and digital worldwide and translations licensed to more than 20 countries. Her books have been named among Amazon’s Top Ten Romances of the Year, and have also been nominated by readers multiple times as finalists for the Goodreads Choice Award for Best Romance of the Year. Reviewers have called Lara’s books “addictively readable” (Chicago Tribune), “extraordinary” (Fresh Fiction), “strikingly original” (Booklist), and “one of the best vampire series on the market” (Romantic Times).

Writing as TINA ST. JOHN, her historical romances have won numerous awards including the National Readers Choice; Romantic Times Magazine Reviewer’s Choice; Booksellers Best; and many others. She was twice named a Finalist in Romance Writers of America’s RITA Awards, for Best Historical Romance (White Lion’s Lady) and Best Paranormal Romance (Heart of the Hunter). More recently, the German translation of Heart of the Hunter debuted on Der Spiegel bestseller list.

With an ancestry stretching back to the Mayflower and the court of King Henry VIII, the author lives with her husband in New England, where she is working on her next novel. Visit Lara’s website and sign up for new release announcements at http://bit.ly/LaraAdrianNews

Friday, August 11, 2017

Entangled (#2 Guzzi Duet) Bethany-Kris


Author                           Bethany-Kris 
Publication Date         2 August 2017
Genre                            Adult Mafia Romance 




Gian Guzzi has everything a mafia boss could want, but it comes with strings. He shouldn’t be wasting time on a redhead he can’t have, when men like him are not allowed to be affected by silly things like love. A boss’s job is never done, and Gian has far better things to worry about—what with someone wanting him dead, and someone else wanting him in prison for good. Yet, he keeps risking it all for one more taste of Cara Rossi. 

A man without love is no man at all. 

Cara Rossi is left devastated by the things Gian Guzzi didn’t say. She also can’t forget all the things he did say. She needs to focus on moving on from him, not falling right back into his bed once more. Then again, reality has a way of ruining those plans with far more beautiful, unexpected things. Even if it means Cara is forced to question everything, from her morals to her reputation. All to be one woman to one man. 

A woman without respect is a dirty word. 

Duty. Legacy. Love. 
Always in that order. 
Or … that’s how it should be. 

But life is messy, when entangled with love. 
Rules don’t apply.








Unraveled, the first installment of this duet ended with a painful revelation. This second installment takes us to the conclusion of this journey that is entangled in a web of lies, deceits and so much more. 

Gian is now the Don of his outfit. Something that he has been groomed do be from a young age, and it's what he wants. He is a good boss and he works hard, but he isn't happy. 

Cara is doing well in her studies and doing well in a placement, counselling abused girls and women. She loves helping and is hoping for permanent employment once she graduates. If anything, she works long hours to keep her occupied. It stops her from hurting, if only temporarily. 

Three months later, Gian and Cara have a chance encounter for the first time since that awful revelation. It's a short meeting but their feelings are still very strong. This prompts Cara to pull herself together and move on. It doesn't turn out as she expects! Gian just happens to be in the same place. Their initial unpleasant conversation brings back memories and their hearts win out. Their love is too strong! 

Gian's position expects him to keep up appearances, which means a relationship with Cara is not acceptable. Nevertheless, they try to find a happy medium that will satisfy everyone. It's not so easy, given his past problems! He has more than one enemy, but one in particular is devious, calculated, remorseless and manipulative. There are threats, bloodsheds and more bloodsheds. Gian's is in a predicament, where whatever he does is bound to go against him. The unravelling of the extent of the lies and deceits make him realise that he can't trust anyone! Will he be able to resolve these problems and have as normal a life as possible?

This installment is fast paced, full of suspense and passion. I found my heart melting and then breaking again. It's a brilliantly executed plot with a worthy outcome. I was completely invested in this duet and hope that there are more stories to come with the next generation. 

I was kindly issued with an eARC from the author and the views expressed are my personal opinion.







Bethany-Kris is a Canadian author, lover of much, and mother to four young sons, one cat, and three dogs. A small town in Eastern Canada where she was born and raised is where she has always called home. With her boys under her feet, a snuggling cat, barking dogs, and a hubby calling over his shoulder, she is nearly always writing something ... when she can find the time. 

"Put your pen to paper and bleed ..." 





Thursday, August 10, 2017

Hanging in the Stars (#3 Dark Romeo Trilogy) Sienna Blake - Blog Tour



THE DARK ROMEO SERIES 
IS NOW COMPLETE!!

HANGING IN THE STAR IS LIVE!!

RELEASE DAY ONLY

Hanging In The Stars is ONLY 99¢!!! 


TWO BIG GIVEAWAYS GOING ON NOW!!






Title: Hanging In The Stars

Book 3 in the Dark Romeo Trilogy 

Author: Sienna Blake 

Genre: Erotic Romance 

Formats: Paperback & ebook 

Cover Designer: Romacdesigns







The finale to the Dark Romeo trilogy…

Roman and Julianna are rocketing towards a fiery end. But it’s not over until it’s over. Betrayals will be revealed. The twisted truth will come to light. Nothing is what it seems.

Can Roman and Julianna find a way to be together or will Shakespeare’s curse befall our star-crossed lovers?

Inspired by Shakespeare’s Romeo and Juliet, this is a retelling for mature audiences. Don’t enter the Underworld if you’re scared of the dark.
 



~ Paperback Purchase links ~



RELEASE DAY ONLY

Hanging In The Stars is ONLY 99¢!!! 
~ Ebook Purchase links ~





Love Sprung From Hate 
is available for ONLY 99¢





Start the series NOW!! 


Review 
5 Stars 
🌟 🌟 🌟 🌟 🌟 

Hanging in the Stars is an outstanding finale to this mind blowing trilogy. 

After the shocking conclusion of the previous book, Roman and Julianna are trying to get on with their separate lives. Not successfully! They are constantly on each other's mind. It's meant to be for the best, but it's not doing their hearts and souls any good!

Roman goes on a reckless bender and lands himself in deep trouble. He doesn't really care about what happens to him though! As long as Julianna can have the future that he thinks she deserves. When trouble comes, it looks like there is no way out. Help comes from the least expected person, but innocents are caught in the crossfire. Ferocious and heartbreaking! All is not lost as the reaction to this tragedy is not what Roman expects. At this point, they both know that despite their situation, their hearts and souls are bound as one, no matter what. The problem still rests with their family names. Hopeless! 

They have a short reprieve, then it all goes downhill. Julianna is in grave danger and Roman does something that can get him killed. It doesn't matter, as long as Julianna is safe. This situation brings about hurtful and hidden truths! What follows is excruciating. My heart broke and I had to put the book down to gather myself! It doesn't stop there, as there is another more heartwrenching occurrence. I could hardly contain my emotions! 

This grand finale is an emotional rollercoaster. It's plagued with lies, betrayal, hunger for power and injustice. The twists and turns keep coming. There is so much pain and sorrow. The unconditional love between the star crossed lovers is overwhelming. It's a well thought out conclusion and I dare say that despite the emotional turmoil, it's a trilogy that I will read again. Kudos to the author for turning this classic piece of literature into another masterpiece. 

I was kindly issued with an eARC from the author and the views expressed are my personal opinion.





Sienna Blake is a pen name for a USA Today Bestselling Author. She loves all things that make her heart race — rollercoasters, thrillers and rowdy unrestrained sex. She likes to explore the darker side of human nature in her writing.

If she told you who she really was, she’d have to kill you. Because of her passion for crime and forensics, she’d totally get away with your murder.



Follow Sienna 






TWO MEGA GIVEAWAY GOING ON NOW!!!


CLICK THE IMAGES TO ENTER!! 



Giveaway #1


πŸŽ‰WIN ONE YEAR OF ROMANCEπŸŽ‰I'm celebrating the upcoming release of the Dark Romeo trilogy with this HUGE Giveaway!!• 1 Kindle Fire HD 8 Tablet• 12 months Kindle Unlimited subscription• 24 romance paperbacks I LOVED (full list in T&Cs)• 1 Lucky winner!








Giveaway #2 

WIN a $25Amazon gift card! 

And a  Chance to win the entire Dark Romeo series in paperback 

Click the image to be redirected! 












Translate