Showing posts with label Reviews. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Reviews. Show all posts

Monday, June 03, 2019

Cara & Gian (The Complete Guzzi Duet) Bethany-Kris - Blog Tour

Cara & Gian: The Complete Guzzi Duet

by Bethany-Kris
Publication Date: June 3, 2019
Genres: Adult, Romantic Suspense, Organized Crime. Erotic Romance



AVAILABLE NOW, FREE WITH KINDLE UNLIMITED!















SYNOPSIS


Gian Guzzis problems are piling up faster than he knows how to handle them. A murdered grandfather, an unpredictable mafia, and a new boss that threatens both his family's legacy and his life. He has a duty to the oath he swore. First to la famiglia, and only then to himself.


Duty. Legacy. Love.
Always in that order.
Or that's how it should be.


With the violent uncertainty that has become constant in his days, Cara Rossi should have been only a distraction for him to enjoy. Until she becomes so much more.


The lies?
Their life?
All this love?

It doesn't matter how much it entangles together; unitil still unravel eventually.


And when it does  may God save them all.


*


Gian & Cara: The Complete Guzzi Duet features the full-length novels, Unraveled and Entangled.

goodreads-badge-add-38px



Review 
5 Stars
๐ŸŒŸ⭐๐ŸŒŸ⭐๐ŸŒŸ

Unravelled 

Unravelled is a fabulous introduction to the Guzzi Duet. I was pulled into the story right from the start. 

Gian is the grandson of the mafia boss. He is a made man, his dream come true. He has the looks, the personality and the sexy accents. Hard to resist! 

Cara is a student. She is from a mafia family, but has left her home to avoid getting mixed up with that way of life. After losing someone close to her, she is more determined to have a normal life. 

Cara has shut herself from the world after her loss. She is having a hard time coming to terms with this terrible ordeal. She needs a push! This push comes along in the form of a friend who convinces her to go on a night out. She reluctantly agrees, maybe it will help to get her out of this rut. Gian, the owner of the club spots her and makes a beeline for her. It's his duty to know his club's patrons! 

He is confident in his approach and before long, they are chatting to each other. Followed by a dance. Then sex. Nothing serious! A casual affair. Before they know it, they start craving each other. The casual approach is not working and they are now addicted. Not just physically, emotionally too. It's the last thing that Cara wants to happen, but she can't resist. Neither can he! 

At the same time, there is a lot going on in the organisation and Gian can no longer ignore the discord between the older and younger generation. He has been manipulated into the situation and intends to change that sooner than later. He soon learns that not everyone is who they appear to be and the betrayal stings! He does what he has to do, but Cara's life can be threatened. He takes the right steps to stop her from being a target and a bargaining tool. Although Cara is not happy, she understands only too well and complies to Gian's demand. Hopefully, everything will return to normal soon!

Cara makes a shocking discovery and it tears her apart. Gian has some explaining to do, but will Cara listen to him? Her pain is so raw and tangible that I felt it right along with her, and this is where this instalment ends. 

It's a well paced. It's full of suspense, betrayal, lies and violence. It's intense and passionate. I am so glad that I don't have to wait to see how and if the situation between Gian and Cara can be resolved. I am going to dive straight into the next instalment. 

Entangled 

Unraveled, the first installment of this duet ended with a painful revelation. This second installment takes us to the conclusion of this journey that is entangled in a web of lies, deceits and so much more. 

Gian is now the Don of his outfit. Something that he has been groomed do be from a young age, and it's what he wants. He is a good boss and he works hard, but he isn't happy. 

Cara is doing well in her studies and doing well in a placement, counselling abused girls and women. She loves helping and is hoping for permanent employment once she graduates. If anything, she works long hours to keep her occupied. It stops her from hurting, if only temporarily. 

Three months later, Gian and Cara have a chance encounter for the first time since that awful revelation. It's a short meeting but their feelings are still very strong. This prompts Cara to pull herself together and move on. It doesn't turn out as she expects! Gian just happens to be in the same place. Their initial unpleasant conversation brings back memories and their hearts win out. Their love is too strong! 

Gian's position expects him to keep up appearances, which means a relationship with Cara is not acceptable. Nevertheless, they try to find a happy medium that will satisfy everyone. It's not so easy, given his past problems! He has more than one enemy, but one in particular is devious, calculated, remorseless and manipulative. There are threats, bloodsheds and more bloodsheds. Gian's is in a predicament, where whatever he does is bound to go against him. The unravelling of the extent of the lies and deceits make him realise that he can't trust anyone! Will he be able to resolve these problems and have as normal a life as possible?

This installment is fast paced, full of suspense and passion. I found my heart melting and then breaking again. It's a brilliantly executed plot with a worthy outcome. I was completely invested in this duet and hope that there are more stories to come with the next generation. 

I was kindly issued with an eARC from the author and the views expressed are my personal opinion.





ABOUT BETHANY-KRIS



Bethany-Kris is a Canadian author, lover of much, and mother to four young sons, one cat, and two dogs. A small town in Eastern Canada where she was born and raised is where she has always called home. With her boys under her feet, snuggling cat, barking dogs, and a hubby calling over his shoulder, she is nearly always writing something  when she can find the time.


To keep up-to-date with new releases from Bethany-Kris, sign up to her New Release Newsletter here: http://eepurl.com/bf9lzD




ENTER THE GIVEAWAY


a Rafflecopter giveaway

Saturday, June 01, 2019

The Earl Next Door (#1 First Comes Love) Amelia Grey


The Earl Next Door 

Author 
Amelia Grey 

Genre 
Historical Romance 

Publication Date 
29 May 2019 


What does a Wickedly Wonderful Widow really want? One noble suitor is about to find out. . .

Adeline, Dowager Countess of Wake, is all on her own after her husband’s sudden death. The good news? Losing him allowed her to find herself. Finally, Adeline is free to do, go, and be as she pleases. She cherishes her newfound independence and is not looking for another man to wed. But seeking out a new lover? Well, that is a whole ’nother story. . .


Lord Lyon, son of the two-timing Earl of Marksworth, wishes to have a respectable, loving wife someday. When he meets the beautiful and self-reliant Adeline, Lyon is instantly smitten. But Adeline would rather have the handsome suitor in her bed than to take his hand in marriage. It’s a scandalous proposal—and one that’s hard for Lyon to refuse. Unless the fire of his passion can melt Adeline’s resolve. . .and he can find a way to be the Wickedly Wonderful Widow’s lover for all time?


Amazon  ~ Barnes and Noble

Kobo  ~ GoogleBooks  ~ iBooks






3 Stars 
๐ŸŒŸ⭐๐ŸŒŸ

Adeline is a widow who has sworn off marriage. She dedicates her time to a good cause which is quite fullfiling.

Lyon is an Earl who has never been married despite his father's nagging to settle down and produce an heir. 

Adeline and Lyon start off with a love hate relationship but underneath it all, they are attracted to each other. Being neighbours they are unable to avoid bumping into each other. They fight their attraction as they have different dreams. They eventually give in, but Adeline is adamant about getting remarried. Can Lyon change her mind?

It's an entertaining and easy to read book. Both of the main characters have their appeal and the concept of the story is interesting. 

I was kindly issued with an eARC from Netgalley and the views expressed are my personal opinion.



Amelia Grey (aka Gloria Dale Skinner) grew up in a small town in the Florida Panhandle. She has been happily married to her high school sweetheart for over twenty-five years. She has lived in Alabama, Connecticut, New Hampshire and now lives in Florida. 

Amelia has won the coveted Romantic Times award for Love and Laughter, the prestigious Maggie award for best historical and Affaire de Coeur's best American historical award. She has been a finalist for the Golden Heart and the Holt Medallion awards which are given by Romance Writers of America and numerous other awards. Her books have been sold to many countries in Europe, Russia and China. 

Amelia likes flowers, candlelight, sweet smiles, gentle laughter and sunshine. 











Wednesday, May 29, 2019

Prank in Blue (#3 Prank by Love) Sunniva Dee



Prank Love In Blue

Author 
Sunniva Dee 

Publication Date 
29 May 2019 



Ninni lives for pranking the crap out of K-Pop.
She’d do it with him 24/7—sorry: do it ๐˜ต๐˜ฐ him.

As in prank him.

Yep, their thing has everything to do with pranks.
Nothing to do with an insanity-in-a-bucket attraction.
It’s not like he’s drop-dead gorgeous and has infinite charisma or anything.
His brain isn’t Donald Duck, Einstein, and Shakespeare in one mischievous swirl either.

Nope! The girls of Blossom Field Avenue #246 and the Dudes of #247 are at prank war.

The Dudes are about to get upstaged.
It’s the prank of the ages!
Perfect. Legendary. Life-altering.

Wait: ๐™—๐™–๐™—๐™ฎ-๐™ž๐™ฃ๐™™๐™ช๐™˜๐™ž๐™ฃ๐™œ?

No worries, though. When pranks OD on love, the Dudes and the Blossoms know exactly what to do.










4 Stars
๐ŸŒŸ⭐๐ŸŒŸ⭐


This installment is a great addition to the Love by Pranks series. The Blossoms and the Dudes are surely not short of ideas for pulling their pranks. Their war pranks continues with some very imaginative and hilarious feats.

I have been curious about K Pop since the beginning of this series and I love what I discovered. Nini is a loyal Blossom, but all bets are off when it comes to their "rules".

The friendship between the two houses is amazing and when there is a crucial situation, they couldn't wish for better friends. All the characters are very well portrayed, but K Pop and Nini shine in this story.

They fit well together and K Pop shows his maturity and dedication whilst Nini is uncertain, but at the end of the day, they face their predicament.

If you like a good Rom Com with some laughing out loud moments, then this book is for you. Welcome to the Love by Pranks world! 




Sunniva Dee is a USA Today and Amazon top 100 bestselling author with an eclectic taste in books. Born and raised in Norway, Sunniva lived in the United States for 17 years before returning to the mothership, where she sucks inspiration from trolls and barn gnomes and cold little mermaids popping their heads out of the fjords. Oh, and Spotify. Always Spotify.

Sunniva dabbles in literary romance, romantic comedy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction, new adult fiction, dark romance, and paranormal. Unlike some authors, she was not raised by fairies, and unlike others, she’s not also a musician. But she boasts a ridiculous sense of humor and an obsession with furry mammals, both evident in the bestselling rom-com series #LovePranks.















Friday, May 17, 2019

Rebel Hard (#2 Hard Play) Nalini Singh



Author 
Nalini Singh 

Publication Date 
18 September 2018 

Genre 
Contemporary Romance 



New York Times bestselling author Nalini Singh continues her Hard Play series with a sweet, sexy romance featuring big, fat, OTT weddings, a meddling grandma, and a too-serious hero who needs to be unbuttoned…

Nayna Sharma agreed to an arranged marriage in the hope it would heal the fractures in her beloved family… only to realize too late that a traditional marriage is her personal nightmare. Panicked, she throws caution to the winds, puts on the tiniest dress she can find, and ends up in the arms of a tall, rough-edged hunk of a man who has abs of steel—and who she manages to mortally insult between one kiss and the next.

Abandoned as a child, then adopted into a loving family, Raj Sen believes in tradition, in continuity. Some might call him stiff and old-fashioned, but he knows what he wants—and it’s a life defined by rules… yet he can’t stop thinking about the infuriating and sexy woman who kissed him in the moonlight then disappeared. When his parents spring an introduction on him, the last woman he expects is her. Beautiful. Maddening. A rulebreaker in the making.

He’s all wrong for her. She’s all wrong for him. And love is about to make rebels of them both.
 








5 Stars
๐ŸŒŸ⭐๐ŸŒŸ⭐๐ŸŒŸ


I like the cultural and traditional aspects of this story. They are so well described that I could see the sceneries and taste the food. Yum! The family dynamics are excellently portrayed.

Raj totally captured my heart. He is set in his ways and he has his dreams, but no matter what, he goes after what he wants.

Nayna has always felt smothered by her overprotective, but loving family. Now that they are intent on an arranged marriage, she starts to panic. She feels trapped. If only she could live a little before she meets her "match".

Raj first meets Nayna when she throws caution to the wind and secretly attends a party with her best friend, Isa. He makes a beeline for her and before they know it they are exchanging heated kisses. Then, she goes and insults him by saying one of the very thing that he dislikes. She makes a sharp exit, but not without making an impression on Raj.

Their next meeting comes as a surprise to them and in some ways, they begin a battle of the wits, even though she can't stop thinking about his abs and he can't stop thinking about her. The problem is that they both have different dreams. Can they come to a compromise and explore their chemistry?

I absolutely love Raj. Not just for his looks, but for his sense of responsibility and his dedication to his work and his family. Beneath that tough exterior, he has something special. Nayna is compassionate and loves her family too, despite some of the drama which has landed her in the current situation. I like the way, she stands up for herself, even when she knows that she might create an upset. As for her grandmother, she is fun, loving and understanding. She doesn't miss a thing!

This book is unique in its own way. I was fascinated by the culture and the traditions. Although, it has its drama, it's a fun and memorable story. The characters are well fleshed out and there isn't a boring moment throughout the story. Loved it!




On Me

I was born in Fiji and raised in New Zealand. I spent three years living and working in Japan, where I took the chance to travel around Asia. I’m back in New Zealand now, but I’m always plotting new trips. If you’d like to see some of my travel snapshots, have a look at the Travel Diary page.

I’ve worked as a lawyer, a librarian, a candy factory general hand, a bank temp and an English teacher, but not necessarily in that order. Some might call that inconsistency, but I call it grist for the writer’s mill.

On writing


I’ve been writing for as long as I can remember. All of my stories held a thread of romance, even when I was writing about a prince who could shoot lasers out of his eyes. Creating unique characters and giving them happy endings is my favorite thing. I even love the voices in my head, so there’s no other job I’d rather be doing. When I got the call in September 2002 that Silhouette Desire wanted to buy my first book, Desert Warrior, it was a dream come true. I hope to continue living the dream until I keel over of old age on my keyboard.












Tuesday, May 14, 2019

One Night of Passion (#3 Wicked Dukes Club) Erica Ridley



Author
 Erica Ridley

Publication Date 
14 May 2019 

Genre 
Historical Romance 


Meet the unforgettable men of London's most notorious tavern, The Wicked Duke. Seductively handsome, with charm and wit to spare, one night with these rakes and rogues will never be enough…

Lifelong romantic Thaddeus Middleton is on the hunt for a wife. He hopes to find a woman more attracted to him than to money. Instead, he finds himself drawn to a spitfire who isn’t interested in him at all! At least, that’s what she says when she’s not kissing him beneath the stars...

Miss Priscilla Weatherby will inherit a fortune… provided she remains unwed and scandal-free. Easy enough, until she meets a man more dangerous than haughty lords and heartless rakes. Thad is a sweet, sexy delight, whose passionate embrace will ruin everything—including her! She’ll sacrifice anything for independence. Even love…









4 Stars 
๐ŸŒŸ⭐๐ŸŒŸ⭐

The third installment in Wicked Dukes series is compact, well rounded and ends with a flourish.

Thad is an untitled romantic gentleman who is persuing his dream. He will setlle for nothing less than achieving his ultimate goal. Find love!

Priscilla has her own dreams too. To join her father and grandfather on their adventures. She is keeping a low profile until it's the right time to realise her dreams.

Thad thinks that he might have found The One, but she will not be deterred from realising her dreams. Priscilla is seen in the right places and does her best to stay off the Marriage Mart. All bets are off when the indisputable attraction develops between Thad and herself. The thing is that she will not be deterred from her life long dreams and Thad wants to stay rooted. Can they come to an understanding?

Thad is a gentle soul. He is willing to suffer in silence if that means that The One can achieve her dreams. Priscilla is smart and determined to get what she has always dreamt of. Although this story is fairly short, it's packed with angst. It's full of lies and deceits, but the romance is so worth it. It's a very pleasant read indeed. 

I was kindly issued with an eARC from Netgalley and the views expressed are my personal opinion.



Erica Ridley is a New York Times and USA Today best-selling author of historical romance novels.

In the new 12 Dukes of Christmas series, enjoy witty, heartwarming Regency romps nestled in a picturesque snow-covered village. After all, nothing heats up a winter night quite like finding oneself in the arms of a duke!

Her two most popular series, the Dukes of War and Rogues to Riches, feature roguish peers and dashing war heroes who find love amongst the splendor and madness of Regency England. 

When not reading or writing romances, Erica can be found riding camels in Africa, zip-lining through rainforests in Costa Rica, or getting hopelessly lost in the middle of Budapest.








Translate